Atlas Fireworks


State Laws

Federal & State Fireworks Regulations

To help prevent injuries from fireworks-related incidents, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CSPC) enforces federal laws that prohibit the sale of the most dangerous types of fireworks to consumers.

Fireworks Banned Under Federal Law

  • M-80s
  • Cherry Bombs
  • Any Firecrackers containing more than 50 milligrams (about 1/16th of the weight of a typical aspirin tablet) of powder
  • Large, re-loadable shells
  • Aerial Bombs
  • Mail Order Kits for Building Fireworks

As part of its fireworks enforcement program, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission prevents large numbers of hazardous fireworks from reaching store shelves. Working with the U.S. Customs Service since 1988, CPSC has seized or detained over 400 million hazardous fireworks at docks across the country.

In March of 1997, a new CPSC standard that bans large, unstable, multiple tube fireworks took effect. This standard is designed to eliminate the deadly tip-over hazard that has killed two innocent bystanders, including a 3 year old boy, at family celebrations.

Before using fireworks, make sure they are permitted in your state or local area. Many state and local governments prohibit or limit consumer fireworks such as shells and mortars, multiple tube devices, roman candles, rockets, sparklers, firecrackers, and novelty items like snakes and airplanes.

States That Allow Some or All Types of Consumer Fireworks, Approved By Enforcing Authority, or as Specified in Law

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

State Having No Fireworks Laws Except at County Level

  • Nevada (CPSC regulations still apply)

States That Allow Only Sparklers and/or Other Novelties

  • Arizona
  • Connecticut
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Maryland
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island

States That Ban All Consumer Fireworks (Including Those Allowed By CPSC Regulations)

  • California
  • Delaware
  • Massachusetts
  • New Jersey
  • New York

Sitemap | Privacy Policy | ©2015 Atlas PyroVision Entertainment Group, Inc. | Designed & Developed by Lighthouse Media Solutions